Is Mezcal Gluten Free?

Mezcal, the smoky Mexican traditional and ancestral spirit derived from agave plants, is growing more and more in popularity.

This might be a choice for those with gluten intolerance or celiacs who are wondering if they are able to drink Mezcal with no bad consequences. 

In this post we will explain the factors that determine whether all mezcals are gluten-free and some considerations so everyone can safely enjoy them.

Are All Mezcals Gluten Free?

The majority of mezcals are naturally gluten-free since they are made from agave plants, which do not contain gluten. 

Gluten is a protein found in grains like wheat, barley, and rye, but it is not present in agave. Since good mezcals that follow the NOM (Normas Oficiales Mexicanas) are made from fermented and distilled 100% agave juice, it is typically safe for those with gluten sensitivities

Considerations: Mezcals that Can Have Gluten

Even though all Mezcals must follow the NOM and be made with 100% agave, there are a few considerations to keep in mind:


In some cases, mezcal production facilities may process other grains or spirits that could contain gluten. 

Cross-contamination can occur if equipment or facilities are not thoroughly cleaned between production runs. 

To ensure gluten-free mezcal, it’s crucial to verify that the production process is isolated from gluten-containing products.

Flavored Mezcals

Some flavored mezcals may contain additives or flavorings that could potentially have gluten. 

Always check the label and ingredient list for any added components that may not be gluten-free.

Bottled Products

Occasionally, mezcal producers may add caramel color or other additives to their bottled products. 

These additives could potentially contain gluten. Again, we recommend reviewing the label for any information regarding additives.

Is Del Maguey Vida Mezcal Gluten Free?

Mezcal Vida de Muertos Bottle with a Martini Glass ready to be enjoyed.

Del Maguey Vida Mezcal, as it is made 100% from agave and adheres to the official Mexican norms (NOM) like all Del Maguey’s Mezcals, is a gluten-free spirit. 

With a focus on natural ingredients, artisanal craftsmanship and keeping the traditions intact, at Del Maguey we take pride in providing a mezcal experience that is not only rich in flavor but also meets the dietary needs and preferences of our discerning customers.